1200 x 80 DMirror


Pushpa Ramyani De Soysa adjudged as Sri Lanka’s Most Popular Woman at the '2020 Vanithabhimana Awards' organized by News 1st and National Development Bank (NDB) on Monday (08) at the Nelum Pokuna Mahinda Rajapaksa Theatre.

The awards were organized to coincide with International Women’s Day to recognize and honour women who performed in exceptional ways in their respective fields.

The Vanithabhimana program which took place for almost a year as a series of events, recognized women entrepreneurs from across the country, especially from rural communities.

Pushpa Ramyani De Soysa, Umaria Sinhawansa, Otara Gunawardena, Chamari Atapattu, Pooja Umashankar, Shalani Thakara, Shashika Nisansala, and Susanthika Jayasinghe made the Top 08 for Most Popular Sri Lankan Woman, following which Pushpa Ramyani De Soysa was crowned the winner.

WOmens lanka

At the Final Award ceremony on Monday (08) awards were presented under 08 separate categories.

The recipients were selected from amongst thousands who applied for Vanithabhimana by a committee of experts chaired by the Director-General of the Department of Manpower and Employment, Anusha Gokula Fernando.

01. Entrepreneur (Micro) – Damayanthi Ratnayake

02. Entrepreneur (Small) – Shiromi Pathirana

03. Entrepreneur (Upcoming) – Chamari Lakmali Kumari

04. Young Leader – Bhagya Sanjeewani

05. Environment Manager – V. J. Nilupuli

06. Social Services – G. M. S. Damayanthi Pushpakumari

07. Sports – Damayanthi Darsha

08. Education – R. A. D. Priyanka Weerasekera

Further, 10 Sri Lankan women were given a Lifetime Achievement Award for their extraordinary services to the nation.

01. Veteran Actress Iranganie Serasinghe

02. Veteran Film Director Kalakeerthi Sumitra Peries

03. Veteran Choreographer Padma Shri (Dr) Vajira Chitrasena

04. Veteran Artiste Kalashuri Latha Walpola

05. Veteran Artiste Visharada (Dr) Nanda Malini

06. Acclaimed Writer Sumithra Rahubadda

07. WHO Epidemiologist Dr. Paba Palihawadana

08. Marine Biologist Dr. Asha de Vos

09. Olympic Athlete Susanthika Jayasinghe

10. First Sri Lankan to summit Mount Everest Jayanthi Kuru-Utumpala

(News 1st)