1200 x 80 DMirror


Representatives of 12 political parties of the government which had contested previous elections under the 'betel leaf' symbol met at the official residence of Industries Minister Wimal Weerawansa yesterday (11) to discuss the current political crisis within the government.

However, there weren't any representatives from the Sri Lanka Podujana Permanua (SLPP), the main party of the ruling coalition.

The discussions have focused on their collective responsibility to strengthen the political leadership led by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa.


Several party representatives who took part in the discussions said that the Basil faction had exerted immense pressure on the SLPP leadership to refrain from attending the meeting.


Energy Minister Udaya Gammanpila speaking to reporters after the meeting said that a party leaders meeting was held on every Tuesday at 4.00 pm from 2015 until the incumbent government came to power.

Minister Gammanpila noted that the 12 parties had decided to meet to discuss the current political situation in the country as the party leaders meeting was not held recently.

He also expressed his disgust over the criticism levelled at Minister Wimal Weerawansa by a certain faction of the SLPP in an organised manner.

He stressed that this should not be viewed as a move to create divisions within the government, adding that there were no talks about the parties leaving the ruling coalition.