The interim injunction order preventing the Sri Lanka Freedom Party’s (SLFP) Executive Committee from removing Duminda Dissanayake, Lasantha Alagiyawanna and Mahinda Amaraweera from their respective positions in the party, has been extended until April 24.

The Colombo District judge Sandun Withana issued this order when a plaint filed by the relevant MPs was taken up this morning (08).

A group of individuals including former President Maithripala Sirisena and Acting General Secretary of SLFP Sarathi Dushmantha Mithrapala have been named as respondents of the relevant plaints, through which an order is sought declaring that the decision taken by the party’s executive committee to expel them without any disciplinary investigation to be unlawful.

The Executive Committee of the SLFP decided to remove Dissanayake, Alagiyawanna and Amaraweera from their respective positions in the party, during a special party meeting held on March 30.

Accordingly, Dissanayake was stripped of his post as the National Organizer, Alagiyawanna was removed as the Treasurer and Amaraweera as the Senior Vice President.

Meanwhile, SLFP also appointed a new Senior Vice President, a Treasurer and a National Organizer after the trio was stripped of their respective positions.

Thereby, SLFP’s Mahiyanganaya Constituency Organizer K. P. Gunawardena was appointed to the post of National Organizer, former Western Provincial Minister Hector Bethmage as the Treasurer and former Central Province Chief Minister Sarath Ekanayake as the Senior Vice President.

This decision was communicated to SLFP members during a special party meeting convened by the Chairman of the SLFP, former President Maithripala Sirisena, amidst the controversy of his statements regarding the Easter attacks’ masterminds.

(Ada Derana)

Related News:

Injunction issued preventing Maithripala from functioning as SLFP chairman extended

Thilanga rules out naming Wijeyadasa as presidential candidate

WhatsApp Image 2023 08 02 at 15.09.47

Follow Us


Exchange Rates


Electric Bill